Awards – 2020-2021

Posted in: Club Newsletter, Featured, Uncategorized

Awards for Service were presented at the June 22, 2021 Rotary Meeting by President David Walters
Congratulations to the following Rotarians:

The New Generations Service Award recognized Jennifer Seal and Carole Kelly who did a magnificent job working remotely and finally together with 16 junior Rotarians this year.  David Mayfield  worked very hard with lots of meetings and lots of hours to translate our book support for our public schools into something more meaningful.

International Service Program this year continued to be outstanding thanks to Matt Bown, Mary Jane Calvey, Cliff Dougherty and Clayton Taylor . Matt literally found a new mechanism for our international disaster relief that gives us a lot more accountability for our contributions, Mary Jane is tireless in her work on grants around the world and Cliff was our group chair of all of this for the board and always presented wonderful well-organized summaries and requests. Clayton as most of you know is on the international board to end malaria now and he makes us proud as he raises all of the money for the Uganda program.

Vocational service award  Kermit Frank continues to lead our vocational day, which is always enriching and fun and interesting, but it takes a lot of work getting the host sites, coordinating the assignments and reaching out to our members. Polly Anderson the Director of OETA gets a shout out for the extraordinary work of transitioning the entire station into an educational support mechanism for our schools during the pandemic. This set a national example and was duplicated.

Community Service Award -To Andy Lasser, J. Don Harris and Patti Davis goes thanks for their service this year on the ad hoc Rotary Public Health Safety Committee.  They helped the  board translate what was happening in our area to functional safety and attendance precautions. Wes Milbourn,  was always there helping with Communications but also for finding a way to make the Annual Bell Ringing work with an in person and virtual component. Emily Lang assisted with the communications effort this year, developing press release templates and helping us raise our social media profile.  Congratulations to Ron Stakem and Joe Kernke for their leadership and work on the Rotary Park Restoration Project that is now funded and moving forward. Jerrod Shouse  put together a team to identify worthy recipients for our foundation and Rotary club contributions and did it efficiently and well.  Larry Stone  always working behind the scenes with the staff on the Website, on office technology and on international efforts.  The person always present and available for extremely sage advice is Jim Sharrock. 

We planned two Christmas Events, two holiday parties after the first of the year and a foundation fundraiser none of which we could do because of the Pandemic .RaLayna Kennedy planned venue after venue… did Lisa Synar and Jeanette Nance all for naught. Nothing is more disappointing than planning a great party and then having to cancel it.
Jane Jenkins and Janet Vernon ran the new members committee and despite the challenge have us at about 45 new members with a very full pipeline of new members in the queue.
Dawn Byram, Betsy Brunsteter and Jake Yunker put on the programs this year… which were high quality and harder than normal given the moving requirements for us and the speakers.

Presidential Citations– four Presidential advisors Jim Loftis, Meg Salyer, Terri Cooper and Rick Vermillion. Our goal was 90K and we collected over 107K…20% over an ambitious goal… Dee Llanusa and Donna Lawrence ran a wonderful One Pledge Campaign this year. Ashley Smith and her team did a wonderful job on Rotary After Hours. Chuck Wiggin, who is incredibly generous and very thoughtful and will continue to lead us in our Legacy Fund effort to double our foundations size, Nick Harroz has been a great treasurer this year as we had to do real time forecasting and tracking of the budget. Thanks to General Billy Bowden for his constant positive spirit, kind remarks and useful tips.

Robert L. Medley International Service Award
this year goes to  Steve Shepelwich. Steve came to our Rotary because of our extensive impact in the international community and he lives this passion constantly and has been an extraordinary Chair of the World Service Committee.

Rotary Club 29 Foundation Recognition goes to Ann Ackerman. Solid, steady leadership that resulted in the dramatic restructure of our Foundation that we will see positive results from for years to come.

Lifetime Vocational Service Award goes to Jim Loftis. In addition to being accomplished in his profession, designing major projects here and internationally, he frequently served the public interest, beginning with the Oklahoma City Historic Preservation Commission which he chaired, appointed by Mayor Shirk, nearly 50 years ago. In 1985 he was the youngest recipient from Oklahoma of the AIA National College of Fellows for service to his community and profession. Jim was based in Hawaii for a few years and when he returned to Oklahoma, he was appointed in the early 90’s to the Oklahoma Board of Licensed Architects, where he served three terms under three Governors. He led the effort to rewrite the architect licensing law for the first time in 60 years.  He has held many positions of leadership in the National, regional and State chapters of the AIA. He was appointed to the Oklahoma City Arts Commission. He has received the first AIA Oklahoma Lifetime Achievement Award, the Oklahoma City Public Schools Foundation Wall of Fame and the Governors Award for Service to the State Arts Council in 2019. Jim has provided outstanding service to the Architecture profession for over 50 years and this consequential service deserves a Lifetime Vocational Service Award.

Change this in Theme Options
Change this in Theme Options