Leslie Osborn – Oklahoma Labor Commissioner

Posted in: Events

Link to the livestream: 11:55am

REMINDER:  Everyone attending our Tuesday luncheon will be asked to wear a mask, except when eating. Masks will be available at registration.

In keeping with Rotary’s mission of service above self, we strongly recommend that only those members and guests that are vaccinated attend our in-person meetings. 




Leslie Osborn was elected as Oklahoma’s twentieth Labor Commissioner in 2018 and is currently serving a four year term. The Constitution of Oklahoma provides for the election of a commissioner of labor every four years. The commissioner is head of the Department of Labor. Oklahoma law gives the commissioner broad regulatory authority and enforcement powers to carry out the department’s duties for citizens of Oklahoma.

Prior to being elected Labor Commissioner she served ten years in the Oklahoma House of Representatives representing District 47, which includes parts of Canadian and Grady counties. During her tenure she was appointed in 2013 by Speaker Shannon to chair the Judiciary committee, the first female in state history to do so. In the same year, she authored the landmark workers’ compensation reform bill which changed the judicial system to an updated administrative system. In 2017 she was instrumental in passing into law the first pay for success contract in Oklahoma, which was a public-private partnership with the Department of Corrections and the Kaiser Foundation to move women from incarceration to the Women in Recovery Program. From 2014 to 2015 she served as chair of the House appropriations and budget subcommittee on Natural Resources and Regulatory Services. In 2016, then Representative Osborn was appointed by Speaker McCall to chair the House Appropriations and Budget Committee, again the first Republican female to do so.

She currently also serves as the chair of the Oklahoma Occupational Licensing Advisory Commission and the Department of Commerce’s Automotive Steering Committee, which is actively working on recruitment of diversified manufacturing businesses to the state of Oklahoma. In addition, she serves on the advisory board of Oklahoma Small Business Development Centers and the Oklahoma Academy. She also serves on the foundation board for the Canadian Valley Technology Center. She is a member of Oklahoma First Ladies and a lifetime member of the OSU Alumni association. She graduated from the Leadership Oklahoma Class 27 and served as the state director of the national group Women in Government.

Leslie Osborn was born in Salina, Kansas. In 1986, she graduated from Oklahoma State University receiving a Bachelor of Science in business administration. She owned and operated her own business for 22 years selling heavy duty truck parts, Osborn Pick-Up Accessories. She is the mother of two children.


Chair of the Day


Pat Potts co-founded the Community Resource Development Foundation and its successor, the Potts Family Foundation (PFF). She also founded the Oklahoma Center for Nonprofits and served as president and CEO for over 20 years. Pat was also a founder of the Oklahoma Women’s Coalition. She previously served as President on the Oklahoma City School Board, Oklahoma City Beautiful, the Zoo Trust, and the Society of Fund Raising Executives. Pat was honored by the Journal Record as “Woman of the Year” in 2012. Among her awards were subsequent induction into the Oklahoma Women’s Hall of Fame and with her husband, Ray Potts, into the OCU Business School Hall of Honor in 2017. In 2019 she received the Lifetime Achievement award from Leadership Oklahoma. She focuses on leveraging resources “to address root causes and build the human potential of the people of our state one child and one organization at a time.”

Change this in Theme Options
Change this in Theme Options